Houston, TX

(713) 429-1850

Mon - Fri 9.00 AM - 5:00 PM CT
Sunday Closed

State Taxes

Most individuals and small businesses will need to pay federal taxes as well state taxes. Quite a few people owe both federal and state taxes. Every state has their own taxation laws and their own specific manner of collecting taxes that is totally separate from the IRS. Most states have the same penalties and collection methods as the IRS but the paperwork that needs to be filed is different from each.

Currently, there are seven states that do not collect or the filing of state income taxes

  • Florida
  • Texas
  • Alaska
  • Nevada
  • South Dakota
  • Washington
  • Wyoming

How Can I Resolve My State Tax Debt?

A few States can be exceptionally hard to deal with, while others are generally simple. Our team is well versed and experienced in dealing with state tax agencies. It is ideal to be proactive and file both the IRS and State taxes on time and handle with collection matters early.

What Are The Penalties For Not Paying State Taxes

Each state has a different set of penalties but most of them are identical to the IRS. Most state penalties can include the following :

  • Seizure of assets
  • Wage garnishments
  • Bankruptcy
  • Tax liens
  • Bank levies

To gain more in-depth knowledge about your state’s tax penalties, visit your state government tax site.

How Can We Help?

We can help you deal with current and back taxes owed to IRS and also resolve state taxes issues. Our team is able to prepare and file taxes in all 50 states. Our tax attorneys are admitted before the US Tax Court and experienced in handling irs tax appeals and litigation.  In addition, are team of attorneys are licensed and qualified to litigate and appeal state tax matters in New York, North Carolina and Texas.